Community Engagement Committee

Police Chief William Breault created the Community Engagement Committee in 2020 to offer a meaningful way for ongoing two-way communication with a diverse community representation. It provides additional means for the public to raise concerns, ask questions, provide input, and understand police operations, continuing the department’s collaborative problem solving and reinforcing its role in serving as a positive community resource.

The idea for creating the committee came about as Breault and members of his command staff were conducting a periodic review of its community programs and involvement strategies as it relates to the Police Department’s Community Involvement and Crime Prevention policy. Some of the current programs include Youth to Youth, DARE, the Teen Center, the parental PACT Program, Neighborhood Liaison officers, adult and teen citizen police academies, Big Brother/Big Sister “Bigs with Badges” program, and neighborhood watch initiatives, among others. Additionally, the policy encourages department members to participate in youth recreational programs and volunteer time working with various community organizations.

Breault selected the committee members by contacting stakeholder groups and asked them to recommend someone they thought would best represent their concerns. Those suggestions helped shape the membership of the committee.

Members of the committee are:

  • Diane Levesque – Veterans community
  • Wilson Wardana – Indonesian community
  • Raude Rachel – Indonesian community
  • Tom Waldron – Dover Schools
  • Hershey Hirschkop – LGBTQ Community
  • Ashley Hurteau – Substance misuse / recovery community
  • Karen McNair – Victims of domestic and sexual violence
  • Christopher Kozak – Behavioral health and developmentally disabled community
  • Brian Collins - Behavioral health and developmentally disabled community
  • Maggie Fogarty – Clergy / faith-based community
  • Roxanne Osgood – residents of Dover Housing Authority
  • Lauren Berman – Homeless community
  • Dennis Munson – Business community
  • Purnell Ross – NAACP Seacoast
  • Marlene Guay – Elderly residents of DHA
  • Maurice Olivier – Elderly community
  • Ryan Amazeen – Clergy / faith-based community
  • Clifton West – Black Lives Matter

There will also be one representative from DREAM at Dover High School.

To contact the committee, email Chief Breault at

Meeting agendas and minutes can be viewed below.